Calendar

TWEET CHAT Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)

Date: Wednesday, March 13, 2019 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

TWEET CHAT Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA)

The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare, which sets the context for our work, articulates that “individuals, families, communities, organizations and systems work together to understand, and promote equality, cultural humility, and strong racial, cultural, and ethnic identity, while showing consideration for individual differences and respecting the sovereign rights of tribes. CWLA’s National Blueprint emphasizes the need to minimize cultural disruption and alienation for American Indian/Alaska Native children, youth, and families and the Indian Child Welfare Act preserves cultural and family ties for children and families.” 
CWLA is proud to be part of a large, diverse group of advocates coming together this Wednesday, March 13, for a Twitter chat about the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA).
#ProudtoProtectICWA Tweet Chat
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
12:00 – 1:00 pm ET / 11:00 am – 12:00 pm CT /
10:00 – 11:00 am MT / 9:00 – 10:00 am PT
ICWA is a long-standing federal law protecting the well-being of children who are American Indian/ Alaska Native by upholding family integrity and stability within their community. Join us using the hashtag #ProudtoProtectICWA on March 13!
Brackeen v. Bernhardt is the lawsuit brought by Texas, Indiana, Louisiana, and individual plaintiffs, who allege ICWA—a federal statute that has been in effect for more than 40 years and has helped thousands of children who are American Indian/Alaska Native maintain ties to their families and their tribes—is unconstitutional. It is the first time that a state has sued the federal government over ICWA’s constitutionality.
Join us on Wednesday, March 13 on Twitter using the hashtag #ProudtoProtectICWA

CLICK HERE

 

Search Calendar

CLARO Account