Traumatizing and Unnecessary: Ending the Practice of Juvenile Strip Searches

When:
February 21, 2024 @ 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm America/Chicago Timezone
2024-02-21T13:00:00-06:00
2024-02-21T14:30:00-06:00
Where:
Online

No alt text provided for this image

Traumatizing and Unnecessary: Ending the Practice of Juvenile Strip Searches
Wednesday, February 21, 2024
2:00—3:30 p.m. EST|1:00—2:30 p.m. CT|12:00—1:30 p.m. MT|11 a.m.—12:30 p.m. PT
This complimentary webinar is sponsored by the American Bar Association Litigation Section Children’s Rights Litigation Committee

Strip searches are harmful and traumatizing to children and youth, however they happen regularly in a wide-variety of settings such as jails and detention centers, residential facilities for “troubled teens,” schools, before visits to incarcerated family members in correctional facilities, and by child protective services workers as part of child welfare investigations. Speakers on this webinar will discuss the traumatizing long-term effects of strip searches and share tips and tools that can be used to advocate against strip searches so that fewer children and youth will be subjected to this demeaning and dehumanizing practice.

Speakers:
Riya Saha Shah, Senior Managing Director, Juvenile Law Center (moderator)
Tanisha Long, Community Organizer, Abolitionist Law Center, Pittsburgh, PA
Jessica Feierman, Senior Managing Director, Juvenile Law Center, Philadelphia, PA
Amanda Simmons, Ambika Law, PC, Corona del Mar, CA

REGISTER HERE

Comments are closed.